Tags

, , , , , ,

Hurricane Katrina 9/29/2005

  Two horrible words that send shivers down my spine:
                       Hurricane Katrina

Been there, done that, even got a T-shirt AND a bumper sticker. Yep, you read that right. I am a survivor of the deadliest natural disaster in the history of the United States, Hurricane Katrina.
I even found a beautiful picture of her to share with you. She graciously came into homes and her flood waters made themselves comfortable for about 3 weeks. When she decided to leave, she took everything and anything she wanted. My entire family and I lost everything that we owned. I was smart and evacuated early. Packed up all my pictures and precious treasures, my four-year old son, my 5 month old baby, my husband, dog and my bird. Packed only three days worth of clothes thinking we would be returning.

So now, four days away from Katrina’s 7 year anniversary, we are going through it all again. Hurricane Isaac is predicted to make landfall this Tuesday, August 28 around 1:00 P.M. central time. His path as of now is headed straight to Southeast Louisiana. However, we are talking about hurricanes and things change by the minute!

Hurricane Isaac 2012 Spaghetti Noodle model

All schools are closed, there are no bottled water to be found at any store where I live, which is about 40 minutes outside of New Orleans. If the storm worsens over night, state and local officials will demand mandatory evacuations.

This can not be happening, I can not make it through another nightmare. I am still haunted from Katrina and not a day goes by that I don’t think about that horrific time.

I do not want my children to have to worry about this. My oldest son remembers bits and pieces from K, my youngest son was a baby and remembers nothing.

I just wish I could sprinkle pixy dust on it and PUFF it will all go away. Too bad I live in the real world. Please keep us in your prayers.

Our Lady of Prompt Succor hasten to help us.

 

 

