Tags

, , , , , , ,

 

Tomorrow I start my new journey. As some of you know I have a degree in Elementary Education. I have not “taught” for 11 years because of FMS and CFS. For the past 4 years I worked only two days a week at a Mother’s Day Out program with 18 month old babies.

Starting tomorrow I will be starting my new position as a Pre K assistant!! OH MY GOD what am I doing? I have felt better this past year and I REALLY miss the classroom, I just hope I can sustain the energy needed to get through the day AND be there for my family in the evenings. I. Am. A. Ball. Of. Nerves. And mixed emotions! I am very excited, but at the same time very worried that I won’t make the entire year. I guess I need to stop being negative, and be positive. Have faith in myself, right? UGH!

It will be fun, interesting, and non stop. These are some things I WILL NOT have to do:

  1. Deal with the parents (that’s the teacher’s job! YAY)
  2. Change dirty diapers!!
  3. Hold a crying baby all day.
  4. Put 8 babies down for a nap, at the same time.
  5. Be quite, sit and watch them sleep for two long hours.

It may not seem like that bad of a day, and really it’s not. The beginning of the year, the children are miserable and crying, but it does get better as the year goes on. I will miss it, but not for long.

Here is what I will be doing:

  1. I’m the assistant, what does that mean? I don’t have to plan or make the decisions. Like I said above, I do not have to answer to the parents. If there is a problem, I was asked to please let the teacher handle it!!! NO PROBLEM, go for it!
  2. Help with the crafts, gather the supplies and “assist” in helping the students with their work.
  3. Walk them to the bathroom, they are potty trained! YAY!!
  4. Take them outside to play!
  5. AND on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays I get off at 12pm!! Tuesdays and Thursdays 3pm.

I’ve been at the school for 4 years already, I know everyone and get along with everyone. I also plan to keep out of the gossip, because when working with all women, what do you expect. I don’t want to be that person!

So I guess I have no choice, I have to be ready for this new venture. I’m sure I will have some stories to tell, I hope all good and funny.

 

 

 

 

